For the Love of Peaches

Why is there a line forming in the parking lot of a hardware store in a suburb of Columbus Ohio at 8:45 in the morning on a Friday in mid July?  What is the pair of 24 foot trucks carrying that is generating such nervous excitement in the crowd?  Whispers of, “Is there a limit?” and “What are you going to do with yours?” can be heard.

It all goes back to the early Spring.  To the winter actually.  To the very long harsh winter, and then to the spring when Ohio’s peach farmers discovered this year’s crop had been lost to the cold.  I’m not going to lie–I cried.  Not so much for my well-fed spoiled self  who would dearly miss the local peaches.  I also shed a tear for my favorite orchard, where they pour their heart and soul into their product.  The family of farmers work so very hard, and sometimes despite their best efforts, things don’t go as planned. Their peaches have rock star status among my friends and neighbors.  Their truck always has a line at the Saturday Market.  I happily wait in the line.  But not this year.  (Not yet.  Not until the apples come in.)

I guess my gradual transformation into a “locavore” who is more connected with my food and my farmers has an emotional cost.  A few years ago, the news of a crop failure might have elicited an “Oh, that’s too bad.” from me, but I would have been comforted by the well stocked produce department in the supermarket.  I mean, after all, it’s in season somewhere.  Now I am pained if I see discouragement in the faces of my farmers, or if I read it in their social updates.  With the purchase of a CSA share comes a closeness that I can’t really explain.  It’s not even the anticipation or expectation of a return on my investment in the form of food for my table.   I want the farmers to succeed.  I love what they’re doing.

Georgia to the rescue.
Georgia to the rescue.

So, that is how I came to be in the parking lot, grateful, but a little conflicted, queuing up to buy Georgia peaches from The Peach Truck.

photo of Peach Truck marketing materials
the Peach Truck

The young entrepreneurs responsible for this peach lifeline to Ohio have their own wonderful story.  They are evangelists for the thing they love–legendary Georgia peaches, grown on a five generation family farm, using the best agricultural practices possible.  By extension, for right now, they are my local growers.  They embody the same spirit I admire in the farmers who live just a mile or two away from me.  As for my favorite local orchard, their foresight and resilience has resulted in a bumper apple crop and plans for an autumn festival.  Who knows?  Perhaps these would have been overshadowed had there been a peach crop in Ohio this year.  Weird how things work out sometimes.  Weird how my thoughts wander while I wait in line for peaches.

photo of a man pulling a dolly with four 25 lb boxes of Georgia peaches
100 pounds of peaches…destined for great things

Oh, and if you happen to be in Ohio, Kentucky or Tennessee, and if you would like to buy the Georgia peaches, check this:  The Small Town Peach Tour, courtesy of The Peach Truck.  They’re coming back soon!photo of an open 25 lb box of peaches

2 thoughts on “For the Love of Peaches”

  1. It sounds like the coastal areas fared a bit better than the Ohio growers. I found many stands selling Jersey peaches at the farmer’s market today. I can’t wait to bite into one.
    I love how you’ve been able to connect with the growers by eating locally, so many of us have lost that connection.

    1. Thanks Jackie. Hope your Jersey peaches are wonderful. Jersey corn and tomatoes are pretty great too. They should be showing up at your market about now. Loved your last post about you and Reggie.

Leave a comment